Ghost Detective

Although Batman has encountered ghosts both as allies and enemies, he is generally portrayed as a skeptic when it comes to the supernatural, looking for a rational explanation to the phenomenon.

When it comes to ghosts, I consider myself a rationalist. Sherlock Holmes famously said,

“It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts.”

Although there are ghosts in every culture’s folklore, I have not personally seen evidence of ghosts or heard of any credible evidence that they exist. Until then, I will try to keep an open mind, but operate under the working theory that the supernatural does not exist in our world.

My friends and I had a bonfire while we were down in Pismo Beach and we told ghost stories. Even though most of my friends have personal ghost stories, and I even have two stories from my own childhood, I have never thought of them as more than stories, just another form of entertainment and bonding.

Do you think ghosts exist?

2 thoughts on “Ghost Detective

  1. Pingback: Ghosts! | Atheist Dave

  2. Pingback: Housekeeping (April 2013) | Batman To Be

Leave a Reply

