Competitive Balance

Have you seen the new commercial for Coke Zero?

Lesley first turned me onto Ken Jeong when he was on the “Four Kims of Comedy” tour, and I love him as Senor Chang on Community. Possibly the most interesting thing about this commercial is that he exemplifies his on-screen ideology. He is a successful doctor and comedian!

I think I played too many RPGs as a kid, but it got engrained in my head that it was better to specialize than generalize; that you are rewarded for choosing “or” instead of “and.” This is more subtly shown in the Batman comics – he was often drawn as taller and slimmer when emphasizing his detective skills and squatter and stouter when emphasizing his brawling abilities.

The more I grow, though, the more I realize that is not necessarily true. Real life does not have game-design balance. Sure, you want to have some focus in your life, but you also need moderation. And in more modern Batman comics, he is more consistently drawn with a middle-of-the-road body type.

In short, Batman taught me that you do not need to choose “brains” or “brawn,” you can have both! I might be late to the game on the physical side, and some might say that I squandered my best years for it, but as they say, “better late than never.”

Maybe Coke should get Batman to shill for them. It would not be the first time.

Leave a Reply

