Punch Clock Hero

I got my first paycheck from my new job last week and put most of it towards credit balances I let build up.

However, I did splurge on a couple of new purchases. As I mentioned a while back, I was in the market for a new watch. I got myself a Casio AWGM100B-1ACR.

If you will recall, I was looking for something analog, glow-in-the-dark, and Batman-esque. I think this new watch fits that description very well. As you can see, it has an analog face with glowing hands and an amber backlight for the face. As for the Batman factor: it is G-Shock, so it is tough as hell; it uses atomic clock signals to stay accurate; it uses solar power to charge the battery; and it has a slick all-black design Batman would love. The case is thicker than my Reactor watch, I need to wear it face-out so the light will hit the face and charge the battery, and it feels slightly weird to go back to a plastic band after years of wearing a metal one, but I am optimistic that it will last me a long, long while.

The other item I purchased was an Elevation Training Mask 2.0.

The mask I got was smaller than expected, so it fits under my ears instead of the straps covering my ears. Since it does not fit very well, I have not been able to fully test it yet, but I am again optimistic. Even without exerting myself, I felt like I am working harder to breathe when I wear it, and that is definitely what I wanted – because of my childhood asthma, I always feel like my lungs are underdeveloped. Even though I have not had an asthma attack since middle school, I still get wheezy very easily, and my running partners always tell me that they are concerned for my well-being. When training, I always feel like my lungs give out before my muscles do, and I feel like my lungs are keeping me from reaching my top performance. I do not know if that is true or if it is mental, but the hope is that this training mask will help me find out.

Even if it does not work out, the mask is amusing. I look like Bane (there is an alternate sleeve with the movie-Bane mask printed on it between the blow holes), or maybe Shredder. And I sound like Darth Vader.

Honestly, I still find it a bit strange that this is what I am now putting my discretionary income towards. If you had told me just a year or two ago that I would be buying exercise equipment instead of video games, I would have laughed so hard that I had another asthma attack. I wonder what I will do with my next paycheck.

7 thoughts on “Punch Clock Hero

    • Hahaha, good point.

      No heroes with ninja masks come to mind, though, unless they cover the entire head. Is there something heroic about revealing your mouth? No heroes with labored breathing come to mind, either. Do you have any suggestions?

      Good thing this is just for training and not for my costume. But I should put up another post on superhero aesthetics and focus on the head/face.

  1. Well Batman did wear the Mask of Tengu in KnightsEnd, so I guess that kind of works as a ninja mask. Maybe having one’s mouth exposed is symbolic of a hero’s fight against the oppression of the weak and marginalized individuals in society. It’s literally showing that they’re not going to suffer in silence while justice is being perverted. I see having a voice that gets heard as a form of power.

    I would love to read a post about superhero aesthetics! And similarities between the masks and cowls of heroes vs. those of villains.

  2. Pingback: Batman Can Breathe In Space | Batman To Be

  3. Pingback: Housekeeping (April 2013) | Batman To Be

Leave a Reply

